Meet Some Fabulous International Bettys!

In celebration of International Women's Day,meet some very interesting ladies from around the world!

International Women’s Day

Meet Some International Bettys!

In celebration of International Women’s Day

-The Bettys

In celebration of International Women’s Day, we’d like to introduce you to some very interesting women from around the world.  They gave us a glimpse into their lives — from their hopes and dreams to their daily routines; from their ideas of the perfect guy to their favorite beauty products.  The most amazing thing about  working on this project was finding all the similarities — seeing how easy it is to relate to women all across the world.  Of course we all face different challenges (Frances in South Africa employs an HIV+ nanny; Claire in England is a full-time care-giver for her mum; Beatrize in Mexico juggles school and work), but ultimately we are all in the same boat as we strive to find balance, happiness and peace.

Beatriz EcheverríaName: Beatriz Echeverría
Age: 27
Location: Mérida, Yucatan, México

I kind of do a lot of things at the same time. My university major was anthropology, but I’m working as an assistant for yucatanliving.com; teaching Mexican History at a Local High School and teaching English. I live with my boyfriend and four dogs. I’m really close to my family. Specially my mom and sister.

What’s a typical day in your life like?
I wake up every morning with my dogs barking for me to walk them. Then I go to work, visit my mom and go back home to prepare my classes or review homeworks. Play with my dogs, do some cleaning, watch TV, while talking with my boyfriend about our days.

What women do you admire / who are your heroes?
I admire all women that even having a hard life and a lot of problems find happiness in everything they do. I admire happy women. I also admire my sister for running the family business after my father passed away even though it’s a hard business for women to be in, especially here in Mexico. She runs an auto junk yard. Click here to read Beatriz Echeverria’s complete profile.

Melissa De LeonName: Melissa De Leon
Age: 34
Location: Panama City, Republic of Panama

I am originally from Panama and have managed to successfully marry my love for cooking to the passion I feel for technology, including the internet, web design and marketing. I am a culinary professional trained in California, the U.S., in Mexico, South America, Europe and Asia. I love to travel, and have actually been all around the globe! I am not shy and look forward to creating exotic meals and introducing them to my adventurous clients. As and added seasoning, I love to cook with passion, personality and caring, this is the most important!I am specially fond of my online culinary journal, The Cooking Diva. The name says it all.

3 things you always have in your bag:
Oh well, let me tell you something … perfume and some make up, a digital camera and lots of business cards are always in my purse!

What do you dream about?
OK, my dreams! I would love to have children and to travel to the places I have not been yet. Discover new and delicious ingredients to cook with and make more people happy! Click here to read Melissa De Leon’s complete profile.

Claire Rachael PittName: Claire Rachael Pitt
Age: 27
Location: Near Liverpool, England

I am currently training to be a counselor/therapist and am also caring for my mum, as she has mainly health problems. So that means I live at home with the dreaded parents and have managed not to kill them. After I qualify as a counselor, I shall hopefully be going onto a degree in Art Therapy. I blog at crpitt.blogspot.com.

What are your favorite beauty products?
My favorite perfume is Daisy by Marc Jacobs. Favorite make up is Boots Number Seven range and favorite beauty products are St Ives Apricot facial and body scrub.

What is your idea of the perfect guy?
My idea of the perfect guy, is that there is no such thing as a perfect
guy, but if Hugh Jackman is hanging about, I wouldn’t say no.

What women do you admire / who are your heroes?
That is easy for me! Number one by a mile is the mum, she has endured so much, but is by far the most positive and upbeat person I know. Any woman that climbs their own personal mountain is a hero in my book, whether that’s beating cancer, leaving an abusive relationship, getting a dream job, etc. I think there is a hero in everyone and so there should be. Click here to read Claire Rachael Pitt’s complete profile.

Frances BarstowName: Frances Barstow
Age: 34
Location: Johannesburg (the New York of Africa), South Africa

Fashion Designer, just married with a little girl, trying to be creative in this big machine called Johannesburg.

What’s a typical day in your life like?
Snuggling with my family until I hear the taxis (the South African term for minibuses that make up all of South Africa’s mass transport) hooting on the roads outside. Lecturing, running around, looking for a lot of my day at a computer screen. Feeling the great divide between my meager life and the poorest of the poor who are totally living below the breadline. If I am battling, how on earth are they managing? Greeting my HIV+ nanny who looks after my little girl while I am at work. The nanny is only 28, beautiful and vibrant. And being my nanny is the only work that she can get.

How do you relax / unwind?
Gardening in my tiny postage stamp city farm and growing pumpkins. Click here to read Frances Barstow’s complete profile.

Carol Ann SchroffName: Carol Ann Schroff
Age: Must I???
Location: Trinidad and Tobago

I am single but blessed with a supportive ex-husband, great friends and lots of animal kinfolk, including a flock of Spanish-twittering, rambunctious parrots from nearby Venezuela that are rebelling against Chavez and contemplating migrating into my backyard.

What’s a typical day in your life like?
I awake very early at 4 a.m. I meditate for about 25 minutes and then I proceed to jog at a nearby park for an hour. The rest of my day is usually very quiet as I check the stock markets to see how much closer I am to pauperisation. I also try some Zen breathing so I can actually imagine a never-before-seen vision of Nouriel Roubini and Alan Greenspan projecting a prosperous global economy in the upcoming years.

3 things you always have in your bag:
My credit card, a bottle of clean water and a good book of about 500 pages for those days when I visit government offices to inquire about a simple matter.

What is your idea of the perfect guy?
My idea of a perfect guy is a composite character who looks like Barack Obama, has the heart of Brad Pitt, the compassion of the Dalai Lama, the intelligence and goodwill of Bill Gates and the social conscience of George Clooney. Click here to read Carol Ann Schroff’s complete profile.

Maurina Abdul HamidName: Maurina Abdul Hamid
Age: 23
Location: Brunei Darussalam

I am a tutor at Universiti Islam Sultan Sharif Ali (UNISSA), which is a local Islamic university, by day, and a tutor (again) at a tuition school that offers night classes for students with ages ranging from 10 to 17 years. I work 7 days a week, and in between the two jobs, I somehow manage to squeeze in MC-ing, some freelance writing, some volunteer work (specifically work involving youths that have just completed rehabilitation programs), traveling, and oh, a social life!

What are your favorite beauty products?
MAC Pencil Eyeliner in Engraved and Dolce & Gabanna Perfume by Dolce & Gabanna Women (has always been my all-time favorite). I love all Benefit beauty products too!

What is your idea of the perfect man?
Someone who is smart, and able to make me laugh. With dimples!

What do you dream about?
I wish I can travel all the time. 50 countries by the time I hit 30? … and world peace! (Visa arrangements would be so much easier then). Click here to read Maurina Abdul Hamid’s complete profile.

Lisa WoodillName: Lisa Woodill
Age: 32
Location: Wellington, Nova Scotia, Canada

I was born and raised in Bedford, NS, Canada and still live within 15 minutes of my hometown with my husband and my beautiful one-year-old daughter. In Canada, we are entitled to one year of maternity leave, so I have just recently returned to my day job as a pharmacist. My passion is travel, always has been and I’m quite sure always will be. I have developed a Web site, which is a one-stop resource for traveling with children.

What’s the biggest challenge you face?
The battle against the ‘Mommy Brain’. My brain has always been my biggest asset, however, the hormones associated with pregnancy have wreaked havoc on my memory. I am determined to overcome this problem and continue to challenge myself and exercise my brain. I believe I will eventually be able to complete all my sentences without the awkward pauses while I search for the right words.

What do you dream about?
Figuratively speaking: I dream that 10 to 15 years from now, my husband and I will take our children on a trip around the world for a year. We will volunteer, study, laugh, play, and experience everything the world has to offer. Click here to read Lisa Woodill’s complete profile.

Nadja RaabaName: Nadja Raabe
Age: 41
Location: Berlin, Charlottenburg

I am a professional dancer and dance teacher (contemporary dance, ballet and Jazz). I freelance as a choreographer, dancer and dance teacher, as well as as an administration/ office manager for film and Internet companies, and in the event management field. I also took a further course in teaching English for preschool children and children in elementary school. I live with my two kids, Frida (8) and Carl (6) in Berlin Charlottenburg; my partner Kurt Mundahl lives with his two kids in Berlin Prenzlauer Berg.

3 things you always have in your bag:

Lipstick, my mobile, handkerchiefs.

What do you dream about?

To have my own dance company with young adults again, a house by the ocean.

What women do you admire / who are your heros?

Women, I do admire: Virginia Woolf, Tilda Swinton. I admire their sense of freedom and self-esteem, I call them “Amazons.” Click here to read Nadja Raabe’s complete profile.


follow BettyConfidential on... Pinterest


Read More About...
Related Articles...

0 thoughts on “Meet Some Fabulous International Bettys!

  1. Manicmommy says:

    Oh my gosh, this was an AMAZING article and awesome to learn about these BEAUTIFUL WOMEN! I really wish this was a monthly series on Betty so we can learn about others’ cultures! Fabulous women with incredible lives! Loved it!

  2. crpitt says:

    Loved being an International Betty and was over the moon to be asked :)

  3. Fern says:

    This is such a cool article! You should do this all the time…I love hearing from women around the world.

Leave a Reply

top of page jump to top