Nicole Sexton & Susan Johnston's 'Party Favors'

A discussion about Nicole Sexton and Susan Johnston's 'Party Favors' book.

Recommended Read

Party Favors by Nicole Sexton with Susan Johnston

Fundraising might not be all it’s cracked up to be

-Stephanie Elliot

Party FavorsWhile we’re deep in the pit of this election and if you’re tired of mulling over whether or not Sarah Palin can really see Russia from her front porch, you may be looking for a lighter, fun distraction. If so, then check out Party Favors by Nicole Sexton with Susan Johnston, a fictional “tell-all” in the tradition of Primary Colors and The Devil Wears Prada.

While the protagonist, Temple Sachet, fundraises for the Republican party, this is not a book for “elephant lovers” alone! In fact, when Party Favors first debuted, because of its too-close-to-home subject matter, the GOP kindly suggested that the author put a halt to her book-signing event during the Republican National Convention. Wonder what is so threatening between the pages of this seemingly chick-lit novel that would have the GOP so concerned?

Could it be that author, Nicole Sexton, (co-authored by playwright Susan Johnston*) worked as a Republican fundraiser for 15 years and knows all of the inside scoop? That perhaps this fictional account of what goes on in D.C. is sprinkled with bits of truth and tell-alls that you won’t find elsewhere? That you might be able to read Party Favors and think, “Hey, that character sounds a little bit like Senator …”

And isn’t that the fun of a great read? To suspend your belief – or to extend it? To wonder beyond the pages as to what may or may not be real? To discover what the book may reveal? If reading Party Favors gives you some insight into what it’s like to be a high-powered fundraiser in D.C. and also gets you through this long-drawn out Obama-McCain battle of the “mavericks-taxes-high-gas-prices-prisoner-of-war-I-can-see-Russia-Tina-Fey-what-not” then hey, what’s not to love?

Whether you’re left-wing or a staunch Republican; an elephant or a donkey; from a red state, a blue state or have no clue who’s running for what but really think Tina Fey has a shot as the first female president, you’ll love Party Favors! It’s got the Betty vote!

More About the Book (from the Publisher):

Temple Sachet’s got style, smarts, and the party-planning gene in her blood. Having grown up in New Orleans, surrounded by the pageantry of Mardi Gras, Temple learned a thing or two about how to turn a fantastic party into a money maker. It’s a skill that pays off big when her gala for the Missouri Opera turns into a Ray of Hope internship at the White House. Within weeks, Temple’s caught Potomac Fever – a hopeless, incurable addiction to D.C. for which there is only one cure: a nasty-tasting spoonful of disillusionment …

Party Favors gives a deliciously witty peek into the secretive world of political fundraising in D.C. Written by a former Director of Finance for the National Republican Senatorial Committee, the novel explores the very real truth that favor means you owe, winning won’t save you, and, ultimately, you will be betrayed.

*If you’re in L.A., check out co-author Susan Johnson’s play, How Cissy Grew, starring Desperate Housewives star James Denton.

follow BettyConfidential on... Pinterest

Read More About...
Related Articles...

Leave a Reply

top of page jump to top